Korean Professor Appointed to WTO Appellate Body

According to latest reports, Prof. Seung Wha Chang, a professor of law at Seoul National University, has been appointed as a member of the WTO Appellate Body. Prof. Chang will fill in the vacancy arising out of the resignation of Mr. Shotaro Oshima, a Japanese national and diplomat who resigned from the AB on January 7. Here is his unofficial biography from the Harvard website:

Seung Wha Chang has been a Professor of Law at Seoul National University School of Law since 1995 and has taught international trade, international business transactions, and international arbitration. Professor Chang also taught as Visiting Professor of Law at Harvard, Yale, Stanford, NYU, Duke, Georgetown, UCLA, NUS and other law schools. Prior to teaching, he practiced at Covington & Burling and was a Judge of the Seoul District Court. Professor Chang served as a WTO Panelist for seven highly profiled dispute settlement proceedings including US-FSC and Canada-Aircraft II. He is one of the leading arbitrators in the Asia-Pacific region and regularly serves as an arbitrator (sole, co-arbitrator or chair) for ICC and other leading arbitral institutions. Professor Chang is currently Co-President of APRAG and also serves as Chairman of Korean Council for International Arbitration and Member of the ICC International Court of Arbitration.

ILCurry wishes Prof. Chang the best for his term at the AB. Our best wishes also to Mr. Oshima for a healthy and fulfilling post-AB life!


New WTO Appellate Body Members Appointed

Two new Members, an Indian and an American, were recently appointed to the WTO Appellate Body, the apex adjudicatory body for inter-state disputes under WTO law. The WTO website notes:

Dispute Settlement Body (DSB) appointed on 18 November 2011 the following two new members to the seven-member Appellate Body: Messrs Ujal Singh Bhatia of India and Thomas R. Graham of the United States for four years commencing on 11 December 2011.

Mr. Bhatia and Mr. Graham replace AB Members Ms. Lilia Bautista (Philippines) and Ms. Jennifer Hillman (US), whose terms are set to expire soon. The biographical note for Mr. Bhatia, a retired Indian bureaucrat and diplomat, is available here. Mr. Graham’s background is detailed here and here.

ILCurry thanks Ms. Hillman and Ms. Bautista for their contribution to WTO dispute settlement, and wishes Mr. Bhatia and Mr. Graham the best for their terms.